top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCJ

It Always Helps to Start a Story at the Beginning

Updated: Oct 28, 2019


 

Bailey at 4 Months Old

I love dogs. I know from experience that many people do not think much of dogs, other than as pets that needs to be fed, walked and have their poops cleaned up on a very regular basis. But, what these closed-minded people neglect to see is that dogs are highly intelligent creatures. Dogs have the potential to do so much more for us in terms of mental and physical health.


I guess you could say that it all began with Bailey. I always loved dogs, but when I was given Bailey, I found a whole new meaning for the word love. At first it was the laughter and smiles of puppyhood that drew me in, where anything she did was cute because those puppy dog eyes were like the words of a hypnotist; mesmerizing. But, as she got older and her personality began to show more and more, and then I really knew that she was more than just any dog.


Just before Bailey came along, my partner chose a new career path that saw us move across states and alter the regularity of being able to spend time together. I was struggling with all of the changes and finding it very hard to cope in a new state, with no friends or family close by. Then my partner introduced me to a neurotic, doe-eyed German shepherd puppy and it was as though my mood shifted entirely. I had a new purpose and that purpose was to be the very best carer for my girl. I was not dissimilar to a new mum who had no idea what they were doing, but who sought any means necessary to keep their precious gift safe and more importantly, healthy. I researched the very best food to feed her, natural treats that wouldn’t upset her stomach, durable toys to sustain her growing teeth and I even joined an online Facebook group that organised regular German shepherd meet-ups that allowed me to meet like-minded, dog obsessed people. To simplify, I had direction, I had a purpose and I had a passion for her.


I have created this blog to celebrate the humble canine. I hope that this blog not only makes you smile, but also creates a space for you to share your own experiences of what it means to be a dog owner.

 



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page